Skip to main content
close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: Oakville's Treaty Day

Registration now closed

Oakville's Treaty Day

Learn About Local Indigenous History

2023-02-28 17:00:00 2023-02-28 19:00:00 America/New_York Oakville's Treaty Day A Treaty Day event to mark the date on which the Mississaugas of the Credit (MCFN), signed their last Treaty in Oakville, Treaty 22. Guest speakers MCFN’s Emma Stelter & Debwewin Lead Georgia LaForme. Central Branch -

Tuesday, February 28
5:00pm - 7:00pm

Add to Calendar 2023-02-28 17:00:00 2023-02-28 19:00:00 America/New_York Oakville's Treaty Day A Treaty Day event to mark the date on which the Mississaugas of the Credit (MCFN), signed their last Treaty in Oakville, Treaty 22. Guest speakers MCFN’s Emma Stelter & Debwewin Lead Georgia LaForme. Central Branch -

A Treaty Day event to mark the date on which the Mississaugas of the Credit (MCFN), signed their last Treaty in Oakville, Treaty 22. Guest speakers MCFN’s Emma Stelter & Debwewin Lead Georgia LaForme.

Join us on February 28, to mark the date on which the Mississaugas of the Credit (MCFN), signed their last Treaty in Oakville, Treaty 22. Treaty negotiations stated that the land in Treaty 22 was not intended to be a complete surrender and sale, but instead given in trust to the Crown.

So what happened to the local Treaty holders, the MCFN? If this Treaty was signed in trust, why did Treaty 22, which includes coverage of Oakville’s main waterways of Sixteen Mile and Bronte Creek, contribute to leave the Mississaugas homeless?

The Treaty Day event is part of the Debwewin: The Oakville Truth Project. At the event, MCFN’s Emma Stelter, Governance and Policy Analyst, and Debwewin Lead Georgia LaForme, will guide us in the relearning of the Treaties’ history and how we can all become Grateful Treaty People. The chat will also dive deeper into the results of a new report by the project that explains the original intention of the Treaties, outlines the shared history of Euro-Canadians and Indigenous people, and explores why the Mississaugas were ousted from Oakville.

Attendees will also have an opportunity to become an Ally by signing the Acts of Allyship Commitment Form.

This Treaty Day Event is open to all.

Background on Debwewin: The Oakville Truth Project

‘Debwewin’ refers to one of the Anishinabek seven grandfathers teaching for “truth.” Debwewin: The Oakville Truth Project, is a partnership between the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation (MCFN) and the Oakville Community Foundation. The project is to further our shared understanding of Oakville’s Indigenous past and support local Truth & Reconciliation. Learn more at debwewinoakville.ca

The Acts of Allyship is a community based initiative encouraging individuals and organizations to engage in actions to propel reconciliation forward across the community. By sharing the good works that we are doing to engage in understanding, friendship and reciprocity with our Indigenous Allies we can inspire, support and enable each other and our community to advance farther.

“It’s important to know that the original intent of the treaties is that they last forever and are created to ensure the wellbeing and security of future generations. Sometimes this idea is forgotten, and treaties are viewed as one-time contracts but doing so ignores the sacred and evolving nature of these relationships.”

Central Branch

oplreference@oakville.ca
Phone: (905) 815-2042

Hours
Mon, Feb 26 9:30AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Feb 27 9:30AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Feb 28 9:30AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Feb 29 9:30AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Mar 01 9:30AM to 5:00PM
Sat, Mar 02 9:30AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Mar 03 1:00PM to 5:00PM

Upcoming events

Wed, Feb 28, 2:00pm - 2:30pm

Wed, Feb 28, 2:30pm - 3:00pm

Fri, Mar 01, 10:00am - 10:30am
Program Room

Fri, Mar 01, 10:30am - 11:00am

Fri, Mar 01, 11:00am - 11:30am

Sat, Mar 02, 2:30pm - 3:00pm

Sun, Mar 03, 2:00pm - 2:30pm

Mon, Mar 04, 10:30am - 11:00am
This event is full

Mon, Mar 04, 10:30am - 11:00am

Mon, Mar 04, 11:00am - 11:30am
This event is full

Wed, Mar 06, 2:00pm - 2:30pm

Wed, Mar 06, 2:30pm - 3:00pm
Program Room

Fri, Mar 08, 10:00am - 10:30am
Program Room

Fri, Mar 08, 10:30am - 11:00am

Fri, Mar 08, 11:00am - 11:30am

Sat, Mar 09, 2:30pm - 3:00pm

Mon, Mar 11, 10:30am - 11:30am
Program Room

Wed, Mar 13, 2:00pm - 2:30pm

Wed, Mar 13, 2:30pm - 3:00pm
Program Room

Thu, Mar 14, 10:30am - 11:30am
Auditorium

Fri, Mar 15, 10:00am - 10:30am
Program Room

Fri, Mar 15, 10:30am - 11:00am

Fri, Mar 15, 11:00am - 11:30am

Sat, Mar 16, 2:30pm - 3:00pm

Sun, Mar 17, 2:00pm - 2:30pm

Mon, Mar 18, 10:00am - 11:00am
Program Room

Mon, Mar 18, 10:30am - 11:00am
This event is full

Mon, Mar 18, 11:00am - 11:30am
This event is full

Wed, Mar 20, 2:00pm - 2:30pm

Wed, Mar 20, 2:30pm - 3:00pm
Program Room

Rescheduled
Thu, Mar 21, 10:35am - 11:30am
New date Tuesday, April 16, 10:00am - 11:00am

Fri, Mar 22, 10:00am - 10:30am
Program Room

Fri, Mar 22, 10:30am - 11:00am

Fri, Mar 22, 11:00am - 11:30am

Sat, Mar 23, 10:30am - 11:30am

Rescheduled
Sat, Mar 23, 11:30am - 12:00pm
New date Saturday, March 23, 10:30am - 11:30am

Sat, Mar 23, 2:30pm - 3:00pm

Sun, Mar 24, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Program Room

Mon, Mar 25, 10:30am - 11:00am

Mon, Mar 25, 11:00am - 11:30am
This event is full

Tue, Mar 26, 10:00am - 11:00am
Program Room

Wed, Mar 27, 2:00pm - 2:30pm

Wed, Mar 27, 2:30pm - 3:00pm
Program Room