Skip to main content
close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

The Four Points of the Compass (Virtual)

Oakville and the Underground Railroad

2023-02-23 19:00:00 2023-02-23 20:30:00 America/New_York The Four Points of the Compass (Virtual) A unique opportunity to learn more about Oakville's Black History. For Teens and Adults Virtual Branch - Virtual Room 1

Thursday, February 23
7:00pm - 8:30pm

Add to Calendar 2023-02-23 19:00:00 2023-02-23 20:30:00 America/New_York The Four Points of the Compass (Virtual) A unique opportunity to learn more about Oakville's Black History. For Teens and Adults Virtual Branch - Virtual Room 1

Virtual Branch

Virtual Room 1

A unique opportunity to learn more about Oakville's Black History. For Teens and Adults

Archaeologist, historian and Governor-General's award-winning author Karolyn Smardz Frost has helped explore and preserve our nation's rich African Canadian past for nearly four decades.  Recently she has been working with the Town of Oakville to unearth clues to the lives of Black immigrants who made Halton County their home during the Underground Railroad era. A consummate storyteller, she will share four intriguing tales about people who arrived from the South, West, North and East. Each carried with them skills and talents, courage and ambition to help build Oakville as we know it today.

Skills Learned: Information Literacy, Communication, Critical Thinking, Creativity.

Please review the guidelines and frequently asked questions on our Program FAQ.

Need to cancel? Please let us know.

If you have to cancel your spot for any reason, you can do so by:

1.     Logging into MyEvents using your library card.  If you did not register with your library card, you will need the reference number you received in your confirmation email.

2.     Phone your local branch, or email oplreference@oakville.ca. Please have ready the program title, program date, and names of registered individuals.

Virtual Branch

oplreference@oakville.ca
Phone: 905-815-2042

Hours
Mon, May 27 9:30AM to 8:00PM
Tue, May 28 9:30AM to 8:00PM
Wed, May 29 9:30AM to 8:00PM
Thu, May 30 9:30AM to 8:00PM
Fri, May 31 9:30AM to 5:00PM
Sat, Jun 01 9:30AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Jun 02 1:00PM to 5:00PM

About the branch

Upcoming events

Tue, May 28, All day
Registration is now closed

Wed, May 29, All day

Thu, May 30, All day

Fri, May 31, All day

Sat, Jun 01, All day

Sun, Jun 02, All day

Mon, Jun 03, All day

Tue, Jun 04, All day

Wed, Jun 05, All day

Thu, Jun 06, All day

Fri, Jun 07, All day

Sat, Jun 08, All day

Sun, Jun 09, All day

Mon, Jun 10, All day

Tue, Jun 11, All day

Wed, Jun 12, All day

Thu, Jun 13, All day

Fri, Jun 14, All day

Sat, Jun 15, All day

Sun, Jun 16, All day

Mon, Jun 17, All day

Tue, Jun 18, All day

Wed, Jun 19, All day

Thu, Jun 20, All day

Fri, Jun 21, All day

Sat, Jun 22, All day

Sun, Jun 23, All day