Skip to main content
close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: The Art of Allyship

Registration now closed

The Art of Allyship

Presented by Drag Academy

2023-06-20 18:00:00 2023-06-20 19:30:00 America/New_York The Art of Allyship In this 90-minute workshop, participants will learn how to become good allies. In this class we will explore why allyship is an important tool in creating inclusive spaces. 13+ Iroquois Ridge Branch - Program Room

Tuesday, June 20
6:00pm - 7:30pm

Add to Calendar 2023-06-20 18:00:00 2023-06-20 19:30:00 America/New_York The Art of Allyship In this 90-minute workshop, participants will learn how to become good allies. In this class we will explore why allyship is an important tool in creating inclusive spaces. 13+ Iroquois Ridge Branch - Program Room

Iroquois Ridge Branch

Program Room

In this 90-minute workshop, participants will learn how to become good allies. In this class we will explore why allyship is an important tool in creating inclusive spaces. 13+

What is an ally, and how can you support, promote and amplify underrepresented voices in ways that create inclusive spaces? Don't miss this memorable evening featuring a facilitated discussion on the art of being an effective ally. A drag artist will tell their story and through questions and answers participants will learn how they can work to build a community of inclusion that celebrates diversity. 

Registration is required.

Skills learned: Critical thinking, Communication, Information literacy, Social skills

Please review the guidelines and frequently asked questions on our Program FAQ.

  
Need to cancel? Please let us know.

 If you have to cancel your spot for any reason, you can do so by:

 1. Logging into MyEvents using your library card.  If you did not register with your library card, you will need the reference number you received in your confirmation email.

 2. Phone your local branch, or email oplreference@oakville.ca.  Please have ready the program title, program date, and names of registered individuals.

Presented with Support by Sheridan College

Sheridan Logo

Iroquois Ridge Branch

oplreference@oakville.ca
Phone: (905) 338-4247

Hours
Mon, Jun 10 9:30AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Jun 11 9:30AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Jun 12 9:30AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Jun 13 9:30AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Jun 14 9:30AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Jun 15 9:30AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Jun 16 1:00PM to 5:00PM

About the branch

Located within the Iroquois Ridge Community Centre, Iroquois Ridge Branch is home to a large collection of materials, study spaces, and a Creation Zone. The branch hosts a variety of programs for all ages, with a particular focus on new and emerging technologies, such as virtual reality and Tinker Toys. Parking is free.

Upcoming events

Sat, Jun 15, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Program Room

Tue, Jun 18, 10:00am - 10:30am
Program Room

Tue, Jun 18, 11:00am - 11:30am
Program Room

Tue, Jun 18, 11:30am - 12:00pm

Tue, Jun 18, 1:00pm - 1:30pm
Program Room
This event is full

Tue, Jun 18, 1:30pm - 2:00pm
This event is full

Tue, Jun 18, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Program Room

Wed, Jun 19, 10:00am - 10:30am
Program Room

Wed, Jun 19, 11:00am - 11:30am
Program Room

Wed, Jun 19, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Program Room

Thu, Jun 20, 10:00am - 10:30am
Program Room

Thu, Jun 20, 11:00am - 11:30am
Program Room

Sat, Jun 22, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Program Room

Tue, Jun 25, 10:00am - 10:30am
Program Room

Tue, Jun 25, 11:00am - 11:30am
Program Room

Tue, Jun 25, 11:30am - 12:00pm

Tue, Jun 25, 1:00pm - 1:30pm
Program Room
This event is full

Tue, Jun 25, 1:30pm - 2:00pm
This event is full

Wed, Jun 26, 10:00am - 10:30am
Program Room

Wed, Jun 26, 11:00am - 11:30am
Program Room

Thu, Jun 27, 10:00am - 10:30am
Program Room

Thu, Jun 27, 11:00am - 11:30am
Program Room

Thu, Jun 27, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Program Room

Sat, Jun 29, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Program Room

Tue, Jul 02, 10:00am - 10:30am
Program Room

Tue, Jul 02, 11:00am - 11:30am
Program Room

Tue, Jul 02, 11:30am - 12:00pm

Wed, Jul 03, 10:00am - 10:30am
Program Room

Wed, Jul 03, 11:00am - 11:30am
Program Room

Thu, Jul 04, 10:00am - 10:30am
Program Room

Thu, Jul 04, 11:00am - 11:30am
Program Room

Thu, Jul 04, 2:30pm - 3:30pm
Creation Zone

Sat, Jul 06, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Program Room

Tue, Jul 09, 10:00am - 10:30am
Program Room

Tue, Jul 09, 11:00am - 11:30am
Program Room

Tue, Jul 09, 11:30am - 12:00pm

Tue, Jul 09, 1:00pm - 1:30pm
Program Room
Registration opens Saturday, June 15 2024 at 10:00am

Tue, Jul 09, 1:30pm - 2:00pm
Registration opens Saturday, June 15 2024 at 10:00am

Wed, Jul 10, 10:00am - 10:30am
Program Room

Wed, Jul 10, 11:00am - 11:30am
Program Room

Wed, Jul 10, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Program Room

Thu, Jul 11, 10:00am - 10:30am
Program Room

Thu, Jul 11, 11:00am - 11:30am
Program Room

Sat, Jul 13, 10:00am - 11:30am
Program Room